



Strasbourg, 16 March 2004

Restricted CDL-DEM-PV(2004)001

EUROPEAN COMMISSION FOR DEMOCRACY THROUGH LAW

(VENICE COMMISSION)

19th MEETING OF THE SUB-COMMISSION FOR DEMOCRATIC INSTITUTIONS (Venice, 11 March 2004 at 2.30 p.m.)

MEETING REPORT

1. Adoption of the Agenda

The agenda was adopted as it appears in document CDL-DEM-OJ(2004)001.

2. Draft Guidelines and Explanatory Report on Legislation on Political Parties: some specific issues

Mr Vogel presented document CDL-DEM(2004)001. This document takes into account the Venice Commission's opinions on the question of political parties in several States, as well as the guidelines on the prohibition and dissolution of political parties and analogous measures (CDL-INF(2000)001) and the guidelines on the financing of political parties (CDL-INF(2001)008). It is based on the codification operated by the European Court of Human Rights, the Parliamentary Assembly and other Council of Europe organs. Mr Vogel stressed the contribution made by other members in particular Mr Tuori, joint rapporteur and Mr Klucka.

The Sub-Commission adopted the Draft Guidelines and Explanatory Report on Legislation on Political Parties: some specific issues (CDL-DEM(2004)001), with some modifications.

3. Other business

The Secretariat indicated that other studies in the sphere of political parties could be carried out.

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

ALBANIA

Mr Luan OMARI, Vice President, Sciences Academy of Albania

ANDORRA

Mr François LUCHAIRE, Former President of the Constitutional Tribunal of Andorra

FINLAND

Mr Kaarlo TUORI, Professor, Public Law Department, University of Helsinki

FRANCE

Mr Olivier DUTHEILLET DE LAMOTHE, State Counsellor, Member of the Constitutional Council

GERMANY

Mr Helmut STEINBERGER, Professor at the University of Heidelberg

ICELAND

Mr Hjörtur TORFASON, Former Judge, Supreme Court of Iceland

IRELAND

Ms Finola FLANAGAN, Director General, Senior Legal Adviser, Head of the Office of the Attorney General of Ireland

LATVIA

Mr Aivars ENDZINS, President, Constitutional Court

LITHUANIA

Mr Kestutis LAPINSKAS, Judge, Constitutional Court

LUXEMBOURG

Ms Lydie ERR, Member of Parliament

MALTA

Ms Ugo MIFSUD BONNICI, President Emeritus

RUSSIAN FEDERATION

Mr Marat BAGLAY, Former President, Constitutional Court

SLOVAKIA

Mr Ján KLUCKA, Judge, Constitutional Court

SWEDEN

Mr Hans Heinrich VOGEL, Professor in Public Law, University of Lund

SWITZERLAND

Mr Giorgio MALINVERNI, Professor at the University of Geneva

TURKEY

Mr Ergun ÖZBUDUN, Professor at the University of Bilkent

SECRETARIAT

Mr Gianni BUQUICCHIO Mr Thomas MARKERT Mr Pierre GARRONE Ms Caroline MARTIN Ms Gaël MARTIN-MICALLEF