



Strasbourg, 7 March 2005

CDL-EL(2005)001list <u>Or. Engl.</u>

EUROPEAN COMMISSION FOR DEMOCRACY THROUGH LAW (VENICE COMMISSION)

with the assistance of THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION

SECOND EUROPEAN CONFERENCE OF ELECTORAL MANAGEMENT BODIES

Strasbourg, 10 – 11 February 2005

Council of Europe, Palais de l'Europe, Room 8 (2nd floor)

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

This document will not be distributed at the meeting. Please bring this copy. Ce document ne sera pas distribué en réunion. Prière de vous munir de cet exemplaire.

PARTICIPANTS

AUSTRIA

Dr Thomas M. BUCHSBAUM, Minister plenipotentiary, Head of Division IV 3, Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Vienna

Mr Gregor WENDA, Deputy Head of the Election Administration Department, Federal Ministry of the Interior, Department III/6, Electoral Affairs, Vienna

BELGIUM

Mr Stephan De MUL, Advisor, DG Institutions and Population, Federal Public Service of Home Affairs, Brussels

CYPRUS

Mr Demetris DEMETRIOU, Administrative Officer, Electoral Service, Ministry of Interior, Nicosia

FRANCE

Mr Yannick BLANC, General Direction of Administration, Direction of Territorial Administration and Political Affairs, Ministry of Interior, of the Interior Security and Local Liberties, Paris

IRELAND

Mr Gabriel O'DUFFY, Assistant Head of Unit, Franchise Section, Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government, Custom House, Dublin

Professor Richard SINNOTT, Department of Politics and Institute for the Study of Social Change (Public Opinion and Political Behaviour Programme), University College Dublin

LATVIA

Ms Kristine KURZEMNIECE, Secretary of the Central Election Commission of Latvia, Riga Ms Zane DUZE, President's Assistant, Central Election Commission of Latvia, Riga

LITHUANIA

Mr Zenonas VAIGAUSKAS, Chairman, Central Electoral Committee of the Republic of Lithuania, Vilnius

Mr Antanas BUKAUSKAS, Member of the Central Electoral Committee of the Republic of Lithuania, Vilnius

MALTA

Dr Joseph BUTTIGIEG, Member of the Electoral Commission of Malta, Valletta Dr Anna FELICE, Member of the Electoral Commission of Malta, Valletta

POLAND

Mr Andrzej KISIELEWICZ, Member of the National Electoral Commission of the Republic of Poland, Warsaw

PORTUGAL

Mr Domingos MAGALHAES, Director of Services, Technical Secretariat for Electoral Processes (Secretariado Técnico dos Assuntos para o Processo Eleitoral - STAPE), Lisboa

SWEDEN

Ms Kristina LEMON, Senior Administrative Officer, Election Authority, Solna Mr Mattias LUDVIGSSON, Desk Officer, Ministry of Justice, Division for Democratic Issues, Stockholm

SWITZERLAND

Ms Nadja BRAUN, Legal Adviser, Political Rights Section, Federal Chancellery, Bern

THE NETHERLANDS

Mr Peter STOLK, Lawyer, Head of Legal Advice Division, Constitutional Affairs and Legislation Department, Ministry of the Interior and Kingdom Relations of the Netherlands, The Hague

UNITED KINGDOM

Mr Tim ATKINSON, Policy Officer, The Electoral Commission, London

INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTIONS

ACEEEO (Association of Central and Eastern European Electoral Offices)

Mr Mate RADICS, Senior Project Manager, Budapest, Hungary

EUROPEAN COMMISSION

Mr Michal MEDUNA, DG JLS C.3 Citizenship and fundamental rights, Bruxelles

International IDEA (International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance)

Ms Maria GRATSCHEW, Assistant Programme Officer, Voter Turnout Project, Election Processes, Stockholm, Sweden

IFE Mexico (Instituto Federal Electoral)

Mr Carlos NAVARRO FIERRO, Director of Electoral Studies and International Affairs Unit, Federal Electoral Institute, Mexico

IFES Ltd (Insternational Fondation of Electoral Systems)

Ms Nicola SCHMIDT, Programme Officer Europe, London, United Kingdom

OSCE/ODIHR (Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe/Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights)

Mr Gerald MITCHELL, Head of Election Section, Warsaw, Poland Mr Nikolai VULCHANOV, Deputy Head of Election Section, Warsaw, Poland

PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE

Mr André KVAKKESTAD, Member of the Parliament, Norway; Member of the Council for Democratic Elections

SECRETARIAT OF THE CONGRESS OF LOCAL AND REGIONAL AUTHORITIES OF THE COUNCIL OF EUROPE

Ms Pilar MORALES, Principal Administrative Officer, Secretary of the Committee on Sustainable Development, Co-ordination of local and regional election observation

COUNCIL FOR DEMOCRATIC ELECTIONS

Mr Peter PACZOLAY, Deputy Head, Office of the President of the Republic of Hungary, Budapest, Hungary; Substitute Member of the Venice Commission
Mr Hjörtur TORFASON, Former Judge, Supreme Court of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland; Vice-Chairman of the Council for Democratic Elections; Member of the Venice Commission

VENICE COMMISSION

Mr Gianni BUQUICCHIO, Secretary of the Commission
Mr Pierre GARRONE, Head of Division, Elections and Referendums Division
Mr Serguei KOUZNETSOV, Legal Officer, Elections and Referendums Division
Mr Gaël MARTIN-MICALLEF, Programme Officer, Elections and Referendums Division
Ms Caroline GODARD, Administrative Assistant, Elections and Referendums Division

INTERPRETERS

Ms Dorothy BURNET Mr Jean-Louis WUNSCH