



Strasbourg, 12 March 2002

Restricted
CDL-EL (2002) PV1
Or. Eng.

EUROPEAN COMMISSION FOR DEMOCRACY THROUGH LAW (VENICE COMMISSION)

1ST MEETING OF THE COUNCIL FOR DEMOCRATIC ELECTIONS (Venice, 7 March 2002)

MEETING REPORT

1. Designation of the Working Group and presidency

It was decided that from now on the working group will be known as "the Council for Democratic Elections".

Mr Clerfayt was elected Chairman of the Council for Democratic Elections.

2. Observers

Observer status was granted to ODIHR, to the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly, to the European Parliament and to the European Commission.

It is not envisaged to invite other observers for the moment.

3. Code of Good Conduct in Electoral Matters

The Council examined the preliminary draft guidelines in electoral matters drawn up by the Venice Commission Secretariat (CDL-EL (2002) 2) on the basis of Appendix IV to document 9267 of the Parliamentary Assembly, and which is developed in the preliminary draft code of good practice in electoral matters (CDL-EL (2002) 1).

It was agreed that the Secretariat would prepare a revised draft on the basis of members' comments for the next meeting.

4. Database

The Secretariat informed the Council on the project to create a database on electoral matters (see document CDL-EL (2002) 3). This issue should be dealt with in close co-operation with ODIHR.

5. Network of liaison officers

It was agreed that the question of the creation of a network of liaison officers should be rediscussed once the project for a database has been more precisely defined.

6. Proposals for future activities

The Council will participate in the work on electronic voting within the framework of the Integrated Project. Members are invited to make other proposals during the next meeting.

7. Date of the next meeting

It was proposed to hold the next meeting on 3 July 2002 in the afternoon, and if possible, on 4 July 2002 in the morning.

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Venice Commission

Mme Hanna Suchocka, Ambassador of Poland to the Holy See

Mr Ergun Özubudun, Professor at Bilkent University, Vice-President of the Turkish Foundation for Democracy

Mr François Luchaire, Président honoraire de l'Université de Paris I, ancien membre du Conseil constitutionnel français, ancien Président du Tribunal constitutionnel d'Andorre Mr Georg Nolte, Professor of Public Law, University of Goettingen

Secretariat

M. Gianni Buquicchio

M. Pierre Garrone

Parliamentary Assembly

M. Georges Clerfayt

M. Erik Jurgens

Ms Hanne Severinsen

Secretariat

Mme Danielle Coin

CLRAE

M. Louis Roppe

M. Owen Masters

Secretariat

Mr Rinaldo Locatelli

ODIHR

Ms Ewa Eliasz, Senior Legal Advisor

OSCE Parliamentary Assembly

M. Pentti Väänänen, Deputy Secretary General

M. Giovanni Kessler, Member of OSCE PA