



Strasbourg, 20 December 2005

CDL-UDT(2005)000syn Engl. only

T-00-2005

EUROPEAN COMMISSION FOR DEMOCRACY THROUGH LAW

(VENICE COMMISSION)

UNIDEM Campus Trieste Seminar

"THE IMPACT
OF THE ENLARGED EUROPEAN UNION
ON NEW MEMBER STATES AND PROSPECTS
FOR FURTHER ENLARGEMENT"

MIB School of Management Palazzo del Ferdinandeo, Largo Caduti di Nasirya nº 1 tel: +39 040 918 8111

Trieste, Italy

24 to 28 October 2005

SYNOPSIS

The UNIDEM Campus Trieste project is the Venice Commission's programme of legal "training of trainers" for civil servants from 15 countries financed by the Region Friuli-Venezia Giulia.

The fifth training seminar of this year took place in Trieste on 24-28 October 2005 and was devoted to "The impact of the enlarged European Union on new member States and prospects for further enlargement." It aimed at making participants acquainted with the relationship between Community law and constitutional law, the mechanisms of implementation of EU acts into domestic legal order, the EU neighbouring policy, the EU stabilisation and (pre)accession process including commitments undertaken by non-member states, monitoring of their performance and EU support for bringing about successful reforms, the Council of Europe action to promote democracy, the rule of law and human rights in its new member states as well as the role of the Venice Commission in promoting the adoption of democratic standards across Europe.

In addition, during the afternoon workshop sessions conducted by the lecturers, the participants had the opportunity to share and compare their experiences in negociating with the EU.

27 participants from 12 countries attended the training seminar and several delegations presented their national experience concerning EU accession and/or the development of relations with the EU. The written reports of the lecturers will be available soon on the Venice Commission's web site.

¹ Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Moldova, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, Romania ,the Russian Federation, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and Ukraine.