CoE logo
Venice Logo

Positions at the Venice Commission 


The Bureau of the Venice Commission is composed of the President, the three Vice-Presidents and four other members of the Bureau. The President directs the work of the Commission. Outside Plenary sessions, he or she shall take decisions on behalf of the Commission, where appropriate in consultation with the Bureau. The Bureau typically decides whether to accept requests for opinions under the urgent procedure.


The Commission also has a Special Representative and three Honorary Presidents:


The Bureau may also meet as an Enlarged Bureau, together with the Chairs of the Sub-Commissions. Such meetings usually take place before a plenary session.


Enlarged Bureau
1. Members of the Bureau;
2. Chairs of the Sub Commissions :
  • FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS - J. Velaers (Belgium)
  • FEDERAL AND REGIONAL STATE -  P. Vilanova Trias (Andorra)
  • INTERNATIONAL LAW - I. Cameron (Sweden)
  • JUDICIARY - N. Alivizatos (Greece) 
  • DEMOCRATIC INSTITUTIONS - P. Dimitrov (Bulgaria) 
  • WORKING METHODS - M. Frendo (Malta) 
  • LATIN AMERICA - J.I. Vazquez Marquez (Chile) 
  • MEDITERRANEAN BASIN - N. Bernoussi (Morocco) 
  • RULE OF LAW - S. Holovaty (Ukraine) 
  • OMBUDSMAN INSTITUTIONS - R. Barrett (Ireland) 
  • CONSTITUTIONAL JUSTICE C. Grabenwarter (Austria)​[i]
  • SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL - B. Mathieu (Monaco)

Sub Commissions :
  • FUNDAMENTAL RIGHTS : Chair - J. Velaers (Belgium); Vice-Chair: V. Petrov (Serbia)
  • FEDERAL STATE AND REGIONAL STATE: Chair - P. Vilanova Trias (Andorra); Vice-Chair - N.N.
  • INTERNATIONAL LAW: Chair - I. Cameron (Sweden), Vice-Chair - L. Mälksoo (Estonia) 
  • PROTECTION OF NATIONAL MINORITIES: Chair - J. Omejeć (Croatia); Vice-Chair – Q. Qerimi (Kosovo)
  • JUDICIARY: Chair - N. Alivizatos (Greece); Vice-Chair – R. Deskoska (North Macedonia)
  • DEMOCRATIC INSTITUTIONS: Chair – P. Dimitrov (Bulgaria); Vice-Chair - A. Lavins (Latvia)
  • WORKING METHODS: Chair – M. Frendo (Malta); Vice-Chair - D. Meridor (Israel)
  • LATIN AMERICA: Chair – J-I. Vasquez Marquez (Chile); Vice-Chair – R. Bustos (Spain)
  • MEDITERRANEAN BASIN: Chair – N. Bernoussi (Morocco); Vice-Chair – Y. Atar (Turkey)
  • RULE OF LAW: Chair - S. Holovaty (Ukraine); Vice-Chair – T. Ojanen (Finland)
  • NON-DISCRIMINATION: Chair - T. Otty (UK); Vice-Chair – H. Kjerulf Thorgeirsdottir (Iceland)
  • OMBUDSMAN INSTITUTIONS: Chair - R. Barrett (Ireland) ; Vice-Chair - A.Z. Varga (Hungary)
  • CONSTITUTIONAL JUSTICE:  Chair - C. Grabenwarter (Austria)​[i]; Vice-Chair - I. Rogov (Kazakhstan)


  • SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL : Chair - B. Mathieu (Monaco); Vice-Chair -  P. Bussjäger (Liechtenstein)
  • President and Vice-Presidents of the Commission;
  • Chairs of the Sub-Commissions;
  • Members or substitute members who direct Research Centres on constitutional, international or human rights law 
  •  JOINT COUNCIL ON CONSTITUTIONAL JUSTICE: 1st Co-President - C. Grabenwarter (Austria); 2nd Co-President - V. Georgiev (liaison officer, Constitutional Court, Bulgaria) [ii];
    • Members of the Sub-Commission on Constitutional Justice;
    • 105 liaison officers from 70 Constitutional Courts or Courts with equivalent jurisdiction.


        - on behalf of the Venice Commission:
  • Srdjan DARMANOVIĆ - Vice-Chair
  • Richard BARRETT  
  • Eirik HOLMØYVIK 

Substitute Members

  • Oliver KASK 
  • Katharina PABEL
- on behalf of the Parliamentary Assembly:


  • Michael Georg LINK, Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy - Vice-Chair
  • Pablo HISPÁN, Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights
  • Laura CASTEL, Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee) 

Substitute Members

  • Corneliu-Mugurel COZMANCIUC, Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy 
  • Octavie MODERT, Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights
  • Blerina GJYLAMETI, Committee on the Honouring of Obligations and Commitments by Member States of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee)

- on behalf of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe (Congress):


  • Stewart DICKSON, Chamber of regions - Chair 
  • Marcin GOLASZEWSKI,  Chamber of Local Authorities

Substitute Members

  • Alexander BOOMGAARS, Chamber of Regions 
  • Igor STOJANOVIĆ, Chamber of Local Authorities 
 [i] The Chair of the Sub-Commission on Constitutional Justice acts as Co-President of the Joint Council on Constitutional Justice. The other co-chair is elected by the liaison officers of the courts.
 [ii] This co-chair is a liaison officer elected by his/her peers.


© Council of Europe 2007-2024