CoE logo
Venice Logo

Séminaires, ateliers de formation et missions d'assistance

                                                Sur cette page:

  • Séminaires
  • Ateliers de formation
  • Entretiens scientifiques des experts électoraux
  • Missions d’assistance électorale
  • Une coopération spécifique : le Partenariat pour la bonne gouvernance

Séminaires

La Commission de Venise organise régulièrement des conférences et séminaires thématiques dans le domaine électoral. Ces séminaires visent à disséminer les principes et recommandations du Patrimoine électoral européen, qui sont principalement contenus dans le Code de bonne conduite en matière électorale, qui est le document de référence de la Commission de Venise dans le domaine électoral.


Voici quelques exemples de conférences (en l’espèce organisées avec l’Assemblée parlementaire):  

  • Conférence internationale parlementaire sur la mise en œuvre du droit à des élections libres (Paris, 4-5 juin 2015)

Le défi de la mise en œuvre des législations électorales et le respect des standards du Conseil de l’Europe étaient les problématiques centrales de la conférence. Cet événement était la première conférence parlementaire du genre traitant de la matière électorale. Des élus de six pays, bénéficiaires du Partenariat Oriental, et des membres de l’Assemblée parlementaire d’autres pays membres du Conseil de l’Europe ont rencontré des représentants des administrations électorales, d’organisations non gouvernementales impliquées dans l’observation d’élections, ainsi que des experts de la Commission de Venise, d’autres institutions du Conseil de l’Europe et des représentants d’autres organisations internationales. Les thèmes des cinq sessions de travail étaient les suivants :
 

  • les standards du Conseil de l’Europe en matière d’élections ;
  • comment améliorer le cadre juridique et surmonter les difficultés dans leur mise en œuvre par les autorités nationales ?
  • campagnes électorales ; entre usage et abus des ressources administratives, quelles solutions juridiques et pratiques ?
  • les incohérences dans les listes électorales et les difficultés liées aux citoyens votant à l’étranger, quelles solutions juridiques et pratiques ?
  • le fonctionnement des administrations électorales et le défi de la neutralité et de l’impartialité, quelles solutions juridiques et pratiques ?

 

  • Conférence parlementaire sur la liberté des médias comme fondement des élections démocratiques (Berlin, 4 juillet 2016)

Lors de cette conférence, la délégation de la Commission de Venise est intervenue sur les questions des normes destinées aux médias dans le contexte des élections, de l’éthique des médias et de la transparence concernant les intérêts de partis politiques et du rôle des parlements dans la liberté des médias dans le contexte d’élections. La conférence était accueillie par le Parlement fédéral allemand.

 

  • Conférence régionale interparlementaire sur « l’utilisation abusive des ressources administratives pendant les processus électoraux: un défi majeur pour les élections démocratiques » (Londres, 9-10 novembre 2017)

L'Assemblée parlementaire du Conseil de l’Europe et la Commission de Venise, en coopération avec le Congrès des pouvoirs locaux et régionaux du Conseil de l'Europe, ont organisé une conférence régionale qui portait sur « l’utilisation abusive des ressources administratives pendant les processus électoraux : un défi majeur pour la tenue d’élections démocratiques ». Des parlementaires et des représentants des commissions électorales centrales des pays bénéficiaires du Partenariat pour la bonne gouvernance ont participé à cette conférence , de même qu’un panel d’experts internationaux spécialistes de la matière.


Ateliers de formation

La Commission de Venise organise des ateliers de formation sur l’organisation des élections, qui sont destinés aux personnes en charge de mettre en œuvre la législation électorale. Ces ateliers visent à assurer la mise en œuvre pratique des principes du Patrimoine électoral européen. Jusqu’à présent, de tels ateliers se sont déroulés dans les pays suivants : Albanie, Arménie, Azerbaïdjan, Géorgie, Moldova, « l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine » et Ukraine.

 

En particulier, la Commission de Venise est responsable des ateliers de formation dans le domaine du contentieux électoral. Depuis 2015, de tels ateliers ont par exemple eu lieu en Arménie, Géorgie, au Kirghizistan, en République de Moldova, dans « l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine » et en Ukraine.

 

Voir aussi: Conférences européennes des administrations électorales (EMBs)

 

Entretiens scientifiques des experts électoraux

La Commission de Venise a organisé, les 12 et 13 avril 2016, en coopération avec l’Autorité électorale permanente de Roumanie, les premiers entretiens scientifiques des experts électoraux sur « le droit électoral et les nouvelles technologies : les défis juridiques ».


Ces entretiens, qui ont rassemblé des représentants de plus de 30 pays européens et latino‑américains, ont mis l’accent sur les implications des principes du droit constitutionnel et du droit international en la matière. Ces implications ne se limitent pas à l’application des principes fondamentaux du droit électoral (suffrage universel, égal, libre, secret et direct, stabilité du droit électoral). Elles portent sur des aspects plus généraux du droit constitutionnel, tels que la légalité, la séparation des pouvoirs, le fédéralisme ainsi que l’accès à la justice, la proportionnalité et la transparence.
 

Les actes des entretiens ont fait l’objet d’une édition spéciale de la revue « Expert électoral» publiée par l’Autorité électorale permanente de Roumanie sur papier et en ligne. La Commission de Venise et l’Autorité électorale permanente de Roumanie ont décidé d’organiser ces entretiens périodiquement.

Les deuxièmes entretiens scientifiques des experts électoraux, co-organisés par l’Autorité électorale permanente de la Roumanie (AEP) et la Commission de Venise, se sont tenus les 3-4 mai 2018 à Sinaia, Roumanie, sur le thème « Le suffrage égal ».


Les Entretiens scientifiques des experts électoraux sont destinés à devenir un événement régulier impliquant des spécialistes du droit électoral ayant des expériences diverses, notamment des universitaires et des administrateurs d’élections, afin de discuter de questions de portée aussi bien théorique que pratique. Les rapports présentés durant les débats ont été publiés dans la seule revue européenne consacrée au droit électoral, la Revue roumaine de droit électoral (anciennement «Expert electoral»), vol. VI, nr 1, 2018.

 

Les participants ont discuté en particulier les questions suivantes :

  • Les différents aspects du principe d’égalité et leurs implications dans le domaine des élections ;

  • L’égalité de la force électorale et l’attribution des sièges aux circonscriptions ;

  • Egalité et parité des sexes ;

  • Le suffrage égal dans un environnement en mutation.

 

Missions d’assistance électorale

Lorsqu’elle est invitée à le faire, la Commission de Venise assiste les autorités nationales dans la mise en œuvre de leur législation électorale.

 

Par exemple, la Commission de Venise a assisté régulièrement les Commissions électorales centrales d’Albanie, d’Arménie, de Géorgie, de la République de Moldova et de l’Ukraine. Dans ce dernier pays, la Commission de Venise a organisé en 2018 13 tables rondes sur la réforme de la législation électorale (une in Kiev and 12 dans des centres régionaux) et deux séminaires de formation pour les juges.


En 2017, la Commission de Venise a fourni à deux reprises une assistance à long terme à la Commission électorale d’Etat de « l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine ». Cette assistance a porté notamment sur l’amélioration des processus de réclamation et de recours, les procédures internes de la Commission électorale d’Etat et la formation des commissions électorales et des électeurs.


Voir aussi: Appui au renforcement de la démocratie par la réforme électorale en République kirghize


La Commission de Venise participe en outre, conformément à un accord conclu en 2004, aux missions d’observation des élections de l’Assemblée parlementaire en tant que conseiller juridique. En 2018,  de telles missions ont eu lieu en Arménie, en Azerbaïdjan, en Bosnie-Herzégovine, en Géorgie, au Monténégro, dans l’”ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine” et en Turquie.
 

Une coopération spécifique : le Partenariat pour la bonne gouvernance

Grâce au soutien financier de l’Union européenne, le Conseil de l’Europe, et plus particulièrement la Commission de Venise, a assisté de 2015 à 2017 les institutions nationales d’Arménie, d’Azerbaïdjan, du Bélarus, de Géorgie, de Moldova et d’Ukraine dans la mise en œuvre de réformes visant à rapprocher ces pays des normes du Conseil de l’Europe et de l’Union européenne dans les domaines des droits de l’Homme, de la démocratie et de l’Etat de droit.
 

Ce programme conjoint est appelé le ‘Partenariat pour la bonne gouvernance’ (“le PGG”, site web uniquement en anglais) et fait suite à un programme de coopération antérieur qui s’adressait aussi aux pays du Partenariat oriental. Cinq axes (ou « thèmes ») prioritaires ont été identifiés par l’Union européenne dans le cadre du PGG. Parmi ces cinq thèmes, il y avait une composante dédiée au domaine électoral, pour laquelle la Commission de Venise a été particulièrement active par le biais de l’organisation de séminaires, d’ateliers de formation et de conférences régionales thématiques. Outre les avis en matière électorale, la Commission de Venise a assisté les commissions électorales centrales des pays bénéficiaires du programme à améliorer leurs capacités organisationnelles et juridiques.
 

Parmi les activités organisées par la Commission de Venise dans le cadre du PGG, on peut noter (outre les avis de la Commission) :

  • Une conférence régionale sur l’abus des ressources administratives pendant les processus électoraux (Tbilissi, 30-31 octobre 2017);
  • Des ateliers de formation sur le contentieux électoral en Géorgie (15-20 septembre 2017);
  • L’assistance à long terme à la Commission électorale centrale de l’Arménie (février – avril 2017);
  • Un séminaire sur le contentieux électoral en République de Moldova (13-15 septembre 2016);
  • L’assistance à long terme à la Commission électorale centrale de l’Arménie (août – septembre 2016).

 

© Conseil de l'Europe 2007-2019

CoE logo
Venice Logo

Seminars, training workshops and assistance missions

On this page:

  • Seminars
  • Training workshops
  • Scientific electoral experts debates
  • Electoral assistance missions
  • Partnership for Good Governance

Seminars

The Venice Commission regularly organises thematic seminars in the electoral field. These seminars nad conferences and aim at disseminating the principles and recommendations of the Europe’s Electoral Heritage, which are mainly based on the Code of Good Practice in Electoral Matters, the reference document of the Venice Commission in the electoral field.

 

Here are a few examples (in casu of conferences co-organised with the Parliamentary Assembly):  

  • International Parliamentary Conference on the implementation of the right to free elections (Paris, 4-5 June 2015)

The challenge of the implementation of electoral legislation and the respect of Council of Europe standards were central issues of the conference. This event was the first parliamentary conference of this type in the field of elections. Elected representatives of six countries, beneficiaries of the Eastern Partnership and members of the parliamentary assemblies of other member States of the Council of Europe met representatives of electoral administration bodies, non-governmental organisations involved in election observation as well as experts of the Venice Commission, of other institutions of the Council of Europe and representatives of other international organisations.
 

The topics of the five training sessions were the following:

  • the standards of the Council of Europe in the field of elections ;
  • how to improve the legal framework and to overcome the difficulties with their implementation by the national authorities;
  • electoral campaign: use and abuse of administrative resources, looking for legal solutions and practices;
  • incoherencies in the electoral lists and the difficulties linked to citizens voting from abroad, looking for legal solutions and practices;
  • the functioning of the electoral administrations and the challenge of neutrality and impartiality, looking for legal solutions and practices.

 

  • Parliamentary conference on media freedom as a cornerstone for democratic elections (Berlin, 4 July 2016)

During this conference, the delegation of the Venice Commission intervened on the questions on legal provisions on medias in the context of elections, on the ethic of medias and on transparency concerning the interests of political parties and on the role of parliaments in media freedom in the context of elections. The conference was hosted by the German federal parliament.

 

  • Regional interparliamentary conference on “Misuse of administrative resources during electoral processes: a major challenge for democratic elections” (London, 9-10 November 2017)

 

The Parliamentary Assembly and the Venice Commission, in co-operation with the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, organised a regional conference entitled “Misuse of administrative resources during electoral processes: a major challenge for democratic elections”. Members of Parliaments and representatives of the Central electoral commissions of the countries beneficiaries of the Partnership of Good Governance participated in this conference as well as a panel of international experts, specialists in the topic of the conference.

 

Training workshops

The Venice Commission holds training workshops on the organisation of elections which are addressed to people in charge of implementing electoral legislation. These workshops aim at ensuring the practical implementation of the principles of Europe’s Electoral Heritage. So far such workshops have taken place in the following countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and Ukraine.


The Venice Commission holds training workshops in the field of electoral disputes. Since 2015, such training workshops took place, for instance, in Armenia, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, the Republic of Moldova, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and Ukraine.

 

See also: The European Conferences of Electoral Management Bodies

 

Scientific electoral experts debates

The Venice Commission organised on 12-13 April 2016, in co-operation with the Permanent Electoral Authority of Romania, the 1st scientific electoral experts debates on “Electoral Law and New Technologies: Legal Challenges”.

 

The debates, which brought together representatives of more than 30 European and Latin American countries, focused on the implications of constitutional and international law principles in the field. Such implications are not limited to the application of the fundamental principles of electoral law (universal, equal, free, secret and direct suffrage, stability of electoral law). They also include more general aspects of constitutional law such as legality, the separation of powers, federalism, as well as access to justice, proportionality and transparency.
 

The reports delivered on this occasion appeared in a special edition of the scientific "Electoral Expert" review published by the Permanent Electoral Authority of Romania in paper form and online. The Venice Commission and the Permanent Electoral Authority of Romania have decided to organise these debates periodically.
 

The Venice Commission of the Council of Europe organised in co-operation with the Permanent Electoral Authority of Romania the Second Scientific Electoral Experts Debates in Sinaia, Romania, on 3 and 4 May 2018, on “Equal suffrage”.
 

The Scientific Electoral Experts Debates are intended to become a regular event involving specialists of electoral law from various fields, including academia and electoral management bodies, to discuss issues having both a theoretical and a practical scope. The reports presented during the debates were published in the only European review dedicated to electoral law, the Romanian Journal of Electoral Studies (formerly “Expert Electoral”).

 

The participants discussed more specifically the following issues:

  • The various aspects of the principle of equality and their implications in the electoral field;

  • Equal voting power and allocation of seats to constituencies;

  • Equality and parity of the sexes;

  • Equality in a changing environment.

 

Electoral assistance missions

The Venice Commission assists national authorities in the implementation of electoral legislation when required. For example, the Venice Commission gave its assistance on a regular basis to the Central Election Commissions of Albania, Armenia, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine. In the latter country, the Venice Commission organised in 2018 13 Roundtables on reform of electoral legislation (one in Kiev and 12 in regional centers) and two training seminars for judges.

 

In 2017, the Venice Commission, on two occasions, gave long-term assistance to the Election Commission of the “former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”. In particular, this assistance dealt with the improvement of the review and appeal procedure, the internal procedures of the State Election Commission and the training of electoral commissions and voters.

See also: Support to strengthening democracy through electoral reform in the Kyrgyz Republic


Moreover, according to a 2004 agreement, the Venice Commission takes part as a legal councillor in the election observation missions of the Parliamentary Assembly. In 2018, such missions took place in Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Montenegro, “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia” and Turkey.

 

Partnership for Good Governance

Thanks to the financial support of the European Union, the Council of Europe and more particularly, the Venice Commission from 2015 to 2017 have assisted the national institutions of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine in implementing domestic reforms to bring them closer to the standards of the Council of Europe and the European Union in the fields of human rights, democracy and the rule of law.

 

This joint programme is called the ‘Partnership for Good Governance’ (“PGG”) and follows a prior co-operation programme also addressed to the Eastern Partnership countries. Five priority areas (or “themes”) of co-operation were identified with the European Union for the PGG. Under these five themes, there was a component devoted to the electoral field where the Venice Commission was particularly active through the organisation of seminars, training workshops and thematic regional conferences. Besides the opinion in the electoral field, the Venice Commission assisted the central election commissions of the beneficiary countries in improving their organisational and legal capacities.
 

Among the activities organised by the Venice Commission as part of the PGG, the following can be mentioned (besides the opinions of the Venice Commission):

  • A regional conference on the misuse of administrative resources during the elections (Tbilisi, 30-31 October 2017);
  • Training workshops on electoral disputes in Georgia (15-20 September 2017);
  • Long-term assistance to the Central Election Commission of Armenia (February - April 2017);
  • A seminar on electoral disputes in the Republic of Moldova (13-15 September 2016);
  • Long-term assistance to the Central Election Commission of Armenia (August – September 2016).

 

© Council of Europe 2007-2019