CoE logo
Venice Logo

 Bodies of the Venice Commission (as of 15.12.2016)

The President of the Commission - Mr G. Buquicchio (Italy);
Honorary Presidents - Mr P. Paczolay (Hungary); Ms H. Suchocka (Poland)
- Vice -Presidents:
  • First Vice-President  - Mr K. Tuori (Finland); as of 11.06.2016
  • Vice-Presidents - Mr Ch. Grabenwarter (Austria) and Ms H. Kjerulf Thorgeirsdottir (Iceland); 
- the Bureau:
President –       Mr Gianni Buquicchio (Italy)
1st Vice-President – Mr K. Tuori (Finland)
Vice-President – Mr Christoph Grabenwarter (Austria)
Vice-President – Ms Herdis Kjerulf Thorgeirsdottir (Iceland)
Other Bureau members: - Mr Aivars Endzins (Latvia), Mr Gagik Harutyunian (Armenia), Mr I-W. Kang (Republic of Korea), Ms Talia Khabrieva (Russian Federation)
- the Enlarged Bureau:

1. the Bureau;
2. the Chairs of the Sub Commissions :
  • Fundamental Rights - Mr B. Vermeulen (Netherlands) ;
  • Federal State and Regional State - Ms Regina Kiener (Switzerland);
  • International Law - Ms V. Bilkova (Czech Republic);
  • Protection of Minorities - Mr J. Velaers (Belgium);
  • Judiciary - Mr N. Esanu (Republic of Moldova);
  • Democratic Institutions - Mr M. Frendo (Malta);
  • Working methods - Mr R. Clayton (United Kingdom);
  • Latin America - Mr J.J. Romero (Chile); 
  • Mediterranean Basin - Mr G. Jeribi (Tunisia);
  • Rule of law - Mr W. Hoffmann-Riem (Germany);
  • Gender equality - L. Err ( Luxemburg);
  • Co-Chair of the Joint Council on Constitutional Justice - Ms J. Omejec (Croatia) [i];
  • Vice-President of the Council for Democratic Elections - Mr Oliver Kask (Estonia).
- the Sub Commissions :
  • Fundamental Rights: Chair - Mr B. Vermeulen (Netherlands) ; Vice-Chair -  Mr Nikolas Alivizatos (Greece);
  • Federal State and Regional State: Chair - Ms Regina Kiener (Switzerland); Vice-Chair - Ms S. Cleveland (United States of America) ;
  • International Law: Chair - Ms V. Bilkova (Czech Republic); Vice-Chair - Mr I. Cameron (Sweden);
  • Protection of Minorities: Chair - Mr J. Velaers (Belgium); Vice-Chair - Mr Z.M. Kneževic (Bosnia and Herzegovina);
  • Judiciary: Chair - Mr N. Esanu (Republic of Moldova); Vice-Chair - Mr H. Gstöhl (Liechtenstein);
  • Democratic Institutions: Chair - Mr Michael Frendo (Malta) ; Vice-Chair - Mr D. Meridor (Israel);
  • Working methods: Chair - Mr R. Clayton (United Kingdom); Vice-Chair - Mr R. Barrett (Ireland)
  • Latin America: Chair - Mr J.J. Romero (Chile); Vice-Chair - Mr E. Lewandowski (Brazil);
  • Mediterranean Basin: Chair - Mr G. Jeribi (Tunisia); Vice-Chair - Mr D. Chagnollaud (Monaco);
  • Rule of law: Chair - Mr W. Hoffmann-Riem (Germany);
  • Gender Equality: Chair - Ms L. Err (Luxemburg);
  • Constitutional Justice: Chair - Ms J. Omejec (Croatia).  
- the Council for Democratic Elections :
President - Jos WIENEN (Congress of Local and Regional Authorities)
Vice President - Oliver KASK (Venice Commission, Estonia)

        - on behalf of the Venice Commission:
Ms Maria del Carmen ALANIS FIGUEROA
Mr Oliver KASK

Substitute Members
Mr Richard BARRETT
- on behalf of the Parliamentary Assembly:
Ms Josette DURRIEU, Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy
Lord Richard BALFE, Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights
Mr Jordi XUCLA, Monitoring Committee
Substitute Members
Mr Jean-Claude FRECON, Committee on Political Affairs and Democracy [deceased]
Ms Eka BESELIA, Committee on Legal Affairs and Human Rights
Mr Tiny KOX, Monitoring Committee

- on behalf of the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe (Congress):
Mr Jos WIENEN, Chamber of Local Authorities (Chair)
Mr Stewart DICKSON, Chamber of Regional Authorities
Substitute Member
 - the Joint Council on Constitutional Justice:
  • Co-President [i] : Ms J. Omejec (Croatia);
  • Members of the Sub-Commission on Constitutional Justice;
  • Co-President [ii]  : Ms A. Rasson (liaison officer, Constitutional Court of Belgium);
  • 105 liaison officers from 70 Constitutional Courts or Courts with equivalent jurisdiction.


- the Scientific Council :
Chair: Mr J. Helgesen (Norway);
Vice-Chair: Mr O. Can (Turkey)
  • President and Vice-Presidents of the Commission;
  • Chairs of the Sub-Commissions;
  • Members or substitute members who direct Research Centres on Constitutional, International or Human Rights Law  
  [i] The chair of the Sub-Commission on Constitutional Justice acts as Co-President of the Joint Council on Constitutional Justice.The other co-chair is elected by the liaison officers of the courts.
 [ii] The other co-chair is a liaison officer elected by his/her peers.


© Council of Europe 2007-2017