CoE logo
Venice Logo

New member of the Venice Commission - Kyrgyzstan


As of 1 January 2004 Venice Commission counts 46 member states: the application by Kyrgyzstan to become full member of the Commission has been accepted by the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. This is the first time that a non member state of the Council of Europe has become full member of the Venice Commission. The enlargement of the geopolitical scope of the Commission has been made possible by the revision of the Commission's statute in 2002. Hitherto non-European states could only apply for observer states with the Commission.

Ms Cholpon Baekova, the President of the Constitutional Court is appointed Member of the Commission in respect of Kyrgyzstan.




International conference

Money and Democracy – an Uneasy Relationship

07 - 08/12/2023, Cologne, Germany  

International seminar

“Constitutions and war”  

14 - 15 September 2023
Madrid, Centre for Constitutional and Political Studies (CEPC)


Latest  issue of  the E-Bulletin on Constitutional Case-Law 

Receive the E-Bulletin in your inbox

Follow the Venice Commission on X : @VeniceComm 


© Council of Europe 2007-2024